Visualization Series: Using Scatterplots and Models to Understand the Diamond Market

this article has moved: https://solomonmg.github.io/blog/2014/visualization-series-the-scatterplot-and-understanding-the-diamond-market/

About Solomon

Political Scientist, Facebook Data Science
This entry was posted in R. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Visualization Series: Using Scatterplots and Models to Understand the Diamond Market

  1. Pingback: Visualization Series: Using Scatterplots and Mo...

  2. art2science says:

    Solomon, thanks especially for this paragraph. I have been following the opposite convention, but I think you have convinced me.
    R style note: I started using the “=” operator over “<-” after reading John Mount’s post on the topic, which shows how using “<-” (but not “=”) incorrectly can result in silent errors. There are other good reasons: …..

  3. Fr. says:

    Cool analysis, and glad to see that you have endorsed Mount’s recommandation on assignment. Teaching R to undergrads confirmed to me that = is also much more intuitive to beginners. However, Mount told me that they had removed that recommandation from the book, to avoid vexing anyone following a different R style guide.

  4. Craig says:

    Great read, and thanks a ton for the scraped data! I was looking at how to get the recent info from diamondse.info, and will do the analysis myself. You saved me the trouble of mining the site!

  5. Thanks Solomon. Great article, which I was directed to through the Udacity course (just finished it!)

  6. AGI NewYork says:

    This is so technical absolutely what I wan looking for!

  7. Super useful analysis Solomon. I riffed on it a little bit when I was shopping for engagement rings for my now fiance (!) — she liked cushion diamonds — and turned it into a little Shiny App so I could negotiate w/ dealers on the fly.

    https://cushioncalc.shinyapps.io/cushioncalc/

  8. Saurabh says:

    How much time does it take to extract the data using the python script?

  9. Mudit Uppal says:

    Hey Solomon, great post! 🙂 I wanted to ask, have you defined any – log10_trans() and trans_new() functions anywhere? which are used in the analysis?

  10. Hi Solomon, Thank you for sharing your wonderful work.
    Very informative and detailed. I am taking the Udacity class now. Also, thanks for the scraping tool and updated diamond prices data. I hope your fiancee was happy with your choice. I have mixed thoughts on the obligatory engagement ring. I believe the diamond ring will go the way of the rhinestone ring, and will become a much cheaper fashion statement in the future. As in the Diamond Age novel, diamonds will be industrially manufactured in large quantities. However, it is difficult to go against the current social norm in such a traditional social sphere as marriage.

Leave a comment